Maria Philip Debate Competition 2021




December 4th, 2021 witnessed the much awaited state finale of The Maria Philip Debate Competition. The event was graced by the presence of Prof. J Philip, Founder and Chairman, XIME Bangalore and Amb. C.P. Ravindranathan, IFS (Retd.), Chairman, XIME Kochi. Dr. Francy T.V., Director, XIME Kochi delivered the welcome address. Ms. Mariam C Tharakan, a batch 9 student gave a brief narration about Maria. Prof J Philip addressed the gathering and also shared his feedback on the competition with the participants. Amb. Ravindrathan too shared his remarks.

Maria Philip Auditorium 

The topic of the debate was “Climate Change is a Catastrophe Waiting to Happen and not a technical challenge to be overcome”. Altogether, 7 teams representing various colleges participated in the event. There were three eminent judges from different fields to judge this debate competition. The following colleges were the winners of the State Finals of Maria Philip Future Leaders Debate 2021:                                                      

1st position: Ms. Aleena P.R & Mr. Vishnu Unnikrishnan, 

                     St. Thomas College (Autonomous), Thrissur

2nd Position: Ms. Meghna Manoj Kumar & Mr. Ajith K B, 

                       St Joseph’s College, Devagiri (Autonomous)

Best Speaker:  Ms. Anagha P, School of Legal Studies, CUSAT


The Grand Finale will be held at XIME Bangalore.

The winning (left) and runner up (right) team with the prizes


Best Speaker, Ms. Anagha recieving the prize



Popular Posts